Baking Bad: Part II

Some of you may remember my not-so-successful attempt at making Melonpan, Cooking with Dog style. Well, today I tried it again, and I’m pretty happy with the results. I made a few changes to the conversions, and also added some cinnamon to the cookie portion. All in all, pretty delicious. I can’t wait to eat another one with Mascarpone in the middle. Yum!

So for U.S. readers, and anyone else who uses our rather bizarre baking measurements, here is the recipe I used:

Bread Dough:

1 cup bread flour

3 Tbs sugar

1/3 tsp salt

1 tsp non-fat dry milk powder

1/2 tsp instant yeast

1 Tbs beaten egg

70 ml warm water

1 Tbs (generous) unsalted butter

Cookie Dough:

2 Tbs unsalted butter

1/8 cup (generous) sugar

2 Tbs beaten egg

3/4 cup cake flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon (my addition and not strictly necessary)

For me, 1 entire beaten egg provided the 3 Tbs I needed throughout the entire recipe. Also, as I enjoy cute, small pastries, I divided the recipe into 8 pieces instead of 5. They still cooked for the same amount of time. To get step by step directions, please watch the original Melonpan video. It’s just too fun!

Leave a Reply

