Film Love <3

Poppy Hill

Miyazaki!! Don’t go!!!!!!!!!!!! Well, now that I got that out of my system, it’s time to talk about Studio Ghibli films. Specifically, From Up on Poppy Hill. Yeah, I loved it. Like most of the Studio Ghibli movies, it doesn’t necessarily have a traditional beginning and an end, and I enjoyed this aspect thoroughly. Instead, the story unfolds sweetly and beautifully, allowing the viewer to glimpse a portion of two lives. Without promising eternal happiness, Studio Ghibli films still always leave me feeling good, and also curious. This one was no exception. How will I imagine the rest? What happens to the characters later? I don’t get that feeling very often when watching movies, and I love it.

From Up on Poppy Hill was directed by Miyazaki’s son, Goro Miyazaki, and this really gives me hope for the future. In some ways it reminded me of Whisper of the Heart, so it makes me interested in what will happen in the Goro Miyazaki’s future. Anyway, I guess I generally feel that even though Hayao Miyazaki is retiring, and I’m very sad about it, he has trained his protégées well. And I’m looking forward to the future. And I want to see more movies. And, and, and… Why does it have to take so long to get them released into the U.S?!?!??!?!?!?

6 thoughts on “Film Love <3

  1. I haven’t seen any of Studio Ghibli’s animated films, but the name is on my radar from video games. Did you ever get a chance to play Ni No Kuni on ps3? I haven’t finished it yet, since getting married upset my bachelor play-time, but it’s flippin enchanting.

    1. Isn’t it!!!!! Usually my boyfriend plays the games, and I watch, but I even played a bit of this one. The story is lovely, great game play, and it was so fun to name and morph the characters! You should finish it and watch the movies <3

Leave a Reply

