Molten Chocolate Cheese Cakes – Yum!

I’ve decided to share my most recent baking obsession: making delicious, chocolate, molten cakes! I started with a recipe from a pretty good Martha Stewart cooking book about the seasons, Everyday Food. You can actually find the original recipe on her blog. However, I really felt strongly that I wanted to include cream cheese – I mean, I love cheesecake, I love sweet cheese, I just LOVE CHEESE!!! So, after a bit of tweaking, I feel like I finally got it – a great recipe for Molten Chocolate Cheese Cakes.

Here it is:

  • 4 Tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 8 ounces cream cheese
  • 1/2 + 1Tablespoon granulated sugar (and a bit more for dusting the muffin tin)
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 8 ounces bittersweet chocolate, melted. (I usually use the 10oz. Ghirardelli premium baking chips – 60% Cacao. Though I don’t usually like Ghirardelli chocolate, these chips melt very nicely, and are delicious. I usually just eat a handful beforehand to get about 8 ounces.)

Baking Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 F. Generously butter 7 cups of a standard muffin tin. Dust with granulated sugar, and tap out excess. You will need them later ;)
  2. In the bowl of an electric mixer, cream the butter, cream cheese, and granulated sugar until fluffy and delicious. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. With the mixer on low speed, beat in the flour until just combined. Beat in the chocolate (I usually just use a spatula to fold it in), do not over mix. Divide the batter evenly among the prepared muffin tins.
  3. Bake just until just the tops of the cakes no longer jiggle – tends to be around 12 minutes (but in my oven it’s only 10). Remove from the oven and let stand for 10 minutes.
  4. Take out of the muffin tins and place on a rack until ready to serve (they are delicious both warm and cool).
  5. Of course, there are a variety of ways to serve it: with dusted powdered sugar on top, whipped cream on the side, or some ice cream!

Anyway, try it out, and if you like it, let me know <3 This is really my first time changing a recipe so drastically (usually I just might add different spices etcetera, so this was fun!)

3 thoughts on “Molten Chocolate Cheese Cakes – Yum!

Leave a Reply

