Lit Crawl: like a pub crawl. With literature.

As I’ve mentioned before, I am in a creative writing class. My teacher, wanting us to get involved with literature however we can, mentioned the LitQuake – an annual San Francisco literature extravaganza. It’s an event that’s a little over a week long, with workshops, lectures, signings and more. It ends on a Saturday with a great 3 1/2 hour event in the Mission district – the Lit Crawl. This fun filled event goes on all over the Mission from 6-9:30, with free readings, open mics, and general ruckus for all. Why not? I like the Mission. I like literature. And I certainly can stand to get my drink on every once in awhile.

Since this was my first attendance, and I wasn’t sure what to think, I only scheduled time for one event from 6-7: Erotic Poetry reading in the downstairs area of the Elbo Room. Come on. If I can only attend one event, you better believe it’s going to be Erotic poetry! It was great. My small, three person group arrived right at 6, got drinks, and found a corner table where we could hear and see perfectly. Ginger fizz and a Dark and Stormy compliment erotic poetry perfectly.

The first two readers had interesting poetry, but I didn’t necessarily like their reading style. They didn’t do their own poetry justice. Then Dr. Barbara Mossberg started to read. She was amazing! Not only did she have an energetic, graceful reading style, but her mannerisms were adorable, and her poetry sublime. At least when read aloud. One poem, comparing her husband to cranes and their relationship to Zeus when he courted Leda as a swan, left me inspired and also awestruck. I can’t wait to read it for myself.

After that energetic reading, the next poet was Cynthia Rausch Allar. Her poetry, I feel, was truly erotic, where perhaps the others were better described as sensual. She was a no-nonsense reader, with great cadence and a melodic voice. Perfect really. And her poetry was kick ass. I <3.

Though there were other readers after that, and they had great poetry, for me, those two were the absolute standouts. In fact, I would have to admit that they are the reason I bought the small booklet featuring all the poet readers of the evening plus some – Myrrh, Mothwing, Smoke. After the reading finished, I confess I was a bit sad that I hadn’t given myself more time to enjoy the entirety of the Lit Crawl (especially as at this point I was a bit tipsy). Honestly, who wouldn’t be intrigued by signage claiming 30 bearded men would sing at a barber shop? However, my evening booked, I reluctantly left the Mission. I will say one thing though – I’M GOING NEXT YEAR!!!!!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Lit Crawl: like a pub crawl. With literature.

  1. Brindalee:

    I just found this yesterday. I can’t tell you how nice it is to get such high praise from someone I don’t know . . . who, therefore, must be objective! Thanks for boosting my confidence!

    Cynthia

      1. For me too! But I keep plodding along – sometimes I try to say having a hard time makes for more interesting writing material, but I don’t really believe that…Just know you do have at least two fans in my household :)

Leave a Reply

